On International Women’s Day, The Honourable President Will Confer Prestigious Nari Shakti Puraskars To 29 Outstanding Individuals For The Years 2020 and 2021

 On International Women’s Day, The Honourable President Will Confer Prestigious Nari Shakti Puraskars To 29 Outstanding Individuals For The Years 2020 and 2021

New Delhi:  As part of ‘Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav’, the week-long celebrations of International Women’s Day started on 1st March, 2022 in New Delhi. The culmination of week-long events will witness conferment of Nari Shakti Puruskar for the years 2020 and 2021 by the Honourable President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind at a special ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on 8th March, 2022. The award ceremony for the year 2020 could not be held in 2021 due to prevalent situation created by COVID-19 pandemic.

The Honourable Prime Minister of India will also be having an interactive session with the Awardees to applaud their efforts and to inspire the masses to work for and excel in areas relating to women empowerment.

In all, 28 awards (14 each for the year 2020 and 2021) will be presented to 29 individuals in recognition of their exceptional work in rendering distinguished services towards empowerment of women, especially vulnerable and marginalized women.

‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ is an initiative of the Ministry of Women and Child Development to acknowledge the exceptional contribution made by individuals and institutions, to celebrate women as game changers and catalyst of positive change in the society.

These achievers have not allowed age, geographical barriers or access to resources to come in the way of fulfilling their dreams. Their indomitable spirit will inspire the society at large and the young Indian minds in particular to break gender stereotypes, and stand up against gender inequality and discrimination. These awards are an effort to recognize women as equal partners in the advancement of society.

The winners of the Nari Shakti Puraskar for the year 2020 are from fields as diverse as entrepreneurship, agriculture, innovation, social work, arts and crafts, STEMM, and wildlife conservation, etc. The winners of the Nari Shakti Puraskar for the year 2021 are from the fields of linguistics, entrepreneurship, agriculture, social work, arts and crafts, Merchant Navy, STEMM, education and literature, disability rights, etc.

The list of awardees is below:

Nari Shakti Puruskar 2020

Sl. No Name State/ UT Domain
Anita Gupta Bihar Social Entrepreneur
Ushaben Dineshbhai Vasava Gujarat Organic farmer & Tribal Activist
Nasira Akhter Jammu & Kashmir Innovator – Environmental Conservation
Sandhya Dhar Jammu & Kashmir Social Worker
Nivruti Rai Karnataka Country Head, Intel India
Tiffany Brar Kerala Social Worker – Working for Blind people
Padma Yangchan Ladakh Revived the lost cuisine & clothing in Leh region
Jodhaiya Bai Baiga Madhya Pradesh Tribal Baiga Art Painter
Saylee Nandkishor Agavane Maharashtra Down syndrome affected Kathak Dancer
Vanita Jagdeo Borade Maharashtra First Women Snake Rescuer
Meera Thakur Punjab Sikki Grass Artist
Jaya Muthu, Tejamma  (Jointly) Tamil Nadu Artisans – Toda embroidery
Ela Lodh (Posthumous) Tripura Obstetrician & Gynecologist
Arti Rana Uttar Pradesh Handloom Weaver & Teacher
Nari Shakti Puruskar 2021
Sathupati Prasanna Sree Andhra Pradesh Linguist – preserving minority tribal languages
Tage Rita Takhe Arunachal Pradesh Entrepreneur
Madhulika Ramteke Chhattisgarh Social Worker
Niranjanaben Mukulbhai Kalarthi Gujarat Author & Educationist
Pooja Sharma Haryana Farmer & Entrepreneur
Anshul Malhotra Himachal Pradesh Weaver
Shobha Gasti Karnataka Social Activist – Working for ending Devadasi system
Radhika Menon Kerala Captain Merchant Navy – First woman to receive award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea from IMO
Kamal Kumbhar Maharashtra Social Entrepreneur
Sruti Mohapatra Odisha Disability Rights Activist
Batool Begam Rajasthan Maand & Bhajan Folk Singer
Thara Rangaswamy Tamil Nadu Psychiatrist & Researcher
Neerja Madhav Uttar Pradesh Hindi Author – working for rights for transgenders and Tibetan refugees
Neena Gupta West Bengal Mathematician



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *